WTC Final: ICC announces Prize Money for World Test Championship 2021-23 cycle

India will be taking on Australia in the championship clash which starts from June 7 at the Oval in London. It promises to be a fascinating encounter between the two top Test-playing nations of the last two years. And ahead of the match, the apex body of cricket has announced the prize pool for this WTC cycle.

And as per the latest announcements, there will be no change in the ICC Prize Pool for this current cycle. According to ICC statement, the teams will be sharing a whopping $3.8 million (INR 31.4 crore), which is the same as the previous cycle in 2019-21.

WTC 2021-23 Cycle Prize Money

The winner will receive $1.6 million (INR 13.2 crore), while the runners-up will get $800,000 (INR 6.61 crore).

“There is no change in the tournament prize money, which remains the same as that for the inaugural edition of the championship (2019-21) with a total purse of $3.8 million. Kane Williamson’s New Zealand were rewarded with $1.6 million in Southampton in 2021 after they sealed an eight-wicket win over India in the rain-marred six-day WTC final,” an ICC statement read.

Third-placed South Africa will receive $450,000, whereas fourth-placed England are set to get around $350,000. Fifth-placed Sri Lanka are set to receive $200,000 and the remaining four teams will receive $100,000 each.

World Test Championship 2021-23 Prize Money in INR

Team USD Prize INR Prize
1. India/Australia 1.6 million 13.2 crore
2. India/Australia 800,000 6.61 crore
3. South Africa 450,000 3.71 crore
4. England 350,000 2.89 crore
5. Sri Lanka 200,000 1.65 crore
6. New Zealand 100,000 82.7 lakh
7. Pakistan 100,000 82.7 lakh
8. West Indies 100,000 82.7 lakh
9. Bangladesh 100,000 82.7 lakh

This will be India’s second WTC Final appearance. They played against New Zealand in 2021 but lost the match by 7 wickets. Virat Kohli used to be India’s captain back then, as Rohit Sharma is set to lead the Indian team this time around.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *