RCB vs CSK IPL 2023: Why Harshal Patel Was Stopped By Umpires From Completing 20th Over

The right-arm India pacer had bowled five deliveries in the 20th over of the CSK innings batting but only two of them were legitimate and the on-field umpires signalled him that he cannot bowl anymore.

Introduced in the final over of the first innings, Harshal bowled the first delivery to Ravindra Jadeja, who took a single to give the strike to Moeen Ali. The second ball Harshal bowled turned out to be a full toss and the umpire signalled it a No-Ball. The fielding side reviewed but in vain.

Why Harshal Patel was taken off the attack?

The right-arm pacer did well on the free-hit delivery and prevented Jadeja – who was on strike – to score big as he conceded just a single. On the next ball, Harshal bowled a wide ball.

On the next delivery, Harshal bowled another full-toss to Ali and the on-field umpire didn’t signal it a no-ball and the batter was quick to review it. The third umpire confirmed it was another No-Ball and the on-field umpire had to change his decision.

As Harshal had bowled two height No-Balls in a single over, he was taken off bowling due to the ‘baby over’ rule. Glenn Maxwell – who was acting as the captain as skipper Faf du Plessis was out of the field – then took the decision to complete the over for himself.

Maxwell – who had conceded just 19 runs from the first two overs he bowled – took up the challenge to finish the innings and delivered the remaining four balls. He was first hit for a maximum by Jadeja on the third ball of the over.

The all-rounder, however, came back strongly to get Jadeja caught on the fourth delivery of the over. MS Dhoni then walked into the middle and he could only take a single.

On the final ball, Moeen Ali could also manage a single and CSK reached 226/6 in 20 overs after they were put in to bat first at M Chinnaswamy Stadium.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *