MS Dhoni Set To Lead Chennai Super Kings For 200th Time In IPL

MS Dhoni, who was named the skipper of the second most successful franchis after being roped in by CSK in the inaugural edition in 2008, will have a great opportunity to make this landmark appearance in front of the home fans.

The 41-year-old has led CSK to the playoffs in 11 of the 13 seasons that they have been part of the IPL since 2008. He has led the franchise to 4 IPL titles, the second most by any team so far after Mumbai Indians. Under Dhoni, CSK also reached the IPL final, a record 9 times.

In 199 matches as captain of CSK so far, Dhoni has led the team to 120 wins with a winning percentage of an incredible 60.61%. During his stint as skipper of CSK, the former two-time World Cup-winning India captain, has scored over 4000 runs, including 22 fifties.

MS Dhoni Captaincy Record and Stats in IPL So Far: All You Need To Know About CSK SkipperMS Dhoni Captaincy Record and Stats in IPL So Far: All You Need To Know About CSK Skipper

Dubbed the greatest finisher of the game, Dhoni is the holder of several records in the death and final overs with the bat and the stumper also holds the record for most dismissals in the league.

As Dhoni makes his 200th appearance as captain of CSK, star all-rounder Ravindra Jadeja hopes the team give him a gift by winning the encounter against Rajasthan Royals on Wednesday (April 12).

“What can I say, he is a legend of Indian cricket. So, I would like to wish him good luck. Hopefully in his 200th game, we will win in Chepauk and all the fans will be happy, so that we continue the momentum. Hopefully we win tomorrow and we give him a gift on his 200th (IPL) match as captain,” Jadeja was quoted as saying in CSK official website.

While this will be his 200th match as captain of CSK in IPL, the legendary skipper has led the Chennai-based franchise 222 times across all competitions (IPL and CLT20) and has a winning percentage of 60.85 thanks to 134 wins.

Apart from the four IPL titles in 2010, 2011, 2018 and 2021, Dhoni has also led Chennai Super Kings to two now discontinued Champions League (CLT20) title twice in 2010 and 2014. In 23 matches as captain of CSK in CLT20, Dhoni has led the team to 14 wins.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *