Most Wickets In First Over In IPL History: Bhuvneshwar Kumar and Trent Boult Dominate The List

In any form of the game, early breakthroughs give the team fielding an advantage, but in the limited overs format especially the T20 format as it puts the batting team under pressure.

The duo have indeed done the damage inside the first over of the match as Sunrisers Hyderabad’s Bhuvneshwar leads the list with 23 wickets in the first six balls of an innings, while Rajasthan Royals’ Boult is closing in on the Indian pacer with 21 wickets.

The first over wicket-takers in the IPL has been dominated by pacers as it’s the quicks that take the new ball most often in any format of the game. Apart from Bhuvneshwar and Boult, the likes of Sandeep Sharma and a lone spinner in Ravichandran Ashwin also make the top 15.

Most First Over Wickets In IPL

Player Wickets
Bhuvneshwar Kumar 23
Trent Boult 21
Praveen Kumar 15
Sandeep Sharma 13
Zaheer Khan 12
Lasith Malinga 11
Dale Steyn 11
Deepak Chahar 10
Umesh Yadav 10
Tim Southee 9
Irfan Pathan 8
R Ashwin 7
Albie Morkel 7
Ashok Dinda 6
Mohammed Shami 6

Bhuvneshwar also leads the list for most wickets in the first over of T20 Internationals with 18 wickets followed by Oman’s Bilal Khan, who has 16 wickets and England’s David Willey, who has claimed 14 wickets in the opening over of a T20I.

Australian spearhead Mitchell Starc and Boult’s compatriot Tim Southee also appear in the top 10 list along with Pakistan’s Shaheen Shah Afridi and Sri Lanka’s Angelo Matthews.

Most Wickets in T20I first over

Player Wickets
Bhuvneshwar Kumar 18
Bilal Khan 16
David Willey 14
Angelo Matthews 11
Shaheen Shah Afridi 10
Tim Southee 10
Mitchell Starc 9
Dale Steyn 9
Nuwan Kulasekara 8
Mashrafe Mortaza 8

Bhuvneshwar also leads the list for most wickets in the first over of matches T20 cricket (overall) – IPL, international and other T20 matches included. The Indian pacer has claimed 41 wickets in the opening over of a T20 match.

Bhuvneshwar is followed in the list by former Pakistan pacers Mohammad Aamir and Sohail Tanvir. New Zealand’s Boult also appears on the list thanks to his dominance in IPL.

Most Wickets in First Over in T20 Cricket

Player Wickets
Bhuvneshwar Kumar 41
Mohammad Amir 37
Sohail Tanvir 36
David Willey 33
Shaheen Shah Afridi 31
Trent Boult 27
Dale Steyn 27
Tim Southee 23
Lasith Malinga 22
Samit Patel 22

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *