Most Runs As Captain in IPL History: MS Dhoni Closes in on Kohli as Rahul and Samson Surge in List

The leading run-scorer in the cash-rich league, Kohli, who was the former captain of Royal Challengers Bangalore, tops the list for top run-getters as skippers in IPL, but Chennai Super Kings skipper MS Dhoni is not far behind in second place.

Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli, Gautam Gambhir and MS Dhoni lead the list for most runs as captain in IPL history

Meanwhile, current Mumbai Indians skipper Rohit Sharma surpassed former Kolkata Knight Riders skipper Gautam Gambhir to take the third spot as the duo make up the top four captains with most runs in the list.

While Dhoni, Rohit and Gambhir have all gone to lead their title to multiple title wins, Kohli has failed to land the coveted trophy during his stint as captain of RCB.

Indian cricket greats like Sachin Tendulkar, Rahul Dravid, Sourav Gangluy and Virender Sehwag along side veterans Adam Gilchrist and Kumar Sangakkara also are among the top 15 most run-scorers as captain in the IPL.

Plus, KL Rahul and Shreyas Iyer are two of the few current skippers on the list, while Sanju Samson also surpassed the 1000-run mark as the captain of Rajasthan Royals.

Former Sunrisers Hyderabad captain and current Delhi Capitals skipper David Warner, his Australia teammate Steve Smith, and another former SRH skipper Kane Williamson are some of the overseas stars that feature in the list of players to score most runs as captain in IPL.

Most runs as captain in IPL history list

Captain Innings Runs
Virat Kohli 139 4881
MS Dhoni 186 4582
Rohit Sharma 146 3761
Gautam Gambhir 127 3518
David Warner 73 3049
KL Rahul 46 1993
Adam Gilchrist 74 1900
Sachin Tendulkar 51 1723
Shreyas Iyer 55 1643
Virender Sehwag 53 1524
Rahul Dravid 47 1304
Kane Williamson 46 1265
Sourav Ganguly 42 1110
Steve Smith 41 1105
Sanju Samson 34 1039
Kumar Sangakkara 47 1035

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *