Most Expensive Over In IPL 2023: Arjun Tendulkar Joins Yash Dayal In The Unwanted List

Tendulkar, who made his IPL debut, entered the unwanted list, after being taken to the cleaners by Sam Curran and Harpreet Bhatia as the pair added 31 runs in the 16th over of the innings. Tendulkar junior gave away 4 fours, 1 six and single along with a wide and no ball.

Earlier in the season, Gujarat Titans bowler Yash Dayal had also conceded 31 runs in the final over of an innings, costing his side the match against Kolkata Knight Riders as Rinku Singh hit him for five successive sixes, chasing 29 off 5 balls.

The speedsters Umran Malik and Lockie Ferguson also are among the bowlers to have bowled the most costliest overs so far this season in the Indian Premier League. The top 10 list features only pacers.

Most Expensive Overs in IPL 2023

Player (Team) Versus Runs Conceded
Arjun Tendulkar (MI) PBKS 31
Yash Dayal (GT) KKR 31
Umran Malik (SRH) KKR 28
Lockie Ferguson (KKR) GT 24
Marco Jansen (SRH) CSK 23
Arshad Khan (MI) CSK 23
Jaydev Unadkat (LSG) RCB 23
Navdeep Saini (RR) SRH 23
Tim Southee (KKR) RCB 23
Chetan Sakariya (DC) LSG 22

Most Runs Conceded By Bowler in IPL 2023: Yash Dayal Tops The Unwanted List

While Dayal and Tendulkar top the list in 2023, they also bowled the joint fourth most expensive over in IPL history. In fact, the pair conceded one more run than Curran, who also is on the list.

The record is still held jointly by Harshal Patel (currently at Royal Challengers Bangalore) and Prashanth Parmeswaran (No longer part of IPL). Daniel Sams takes the second spot followed by Parwinder Awana and Ravi Bopara.

Tendulkar also bowled the second most expensive over for Mumbai Indians. That record belongs to Sams, who was smashed all over the park by his compatriot Pat Cummins in 2022.

Most expensive over in IPL history

Harshal Patel (Royal Challengers Bangalore) 37 Chennai Super Kings 2021
Prashanth Parmeswaran (Kochi Tuskers Kerala) 37 Royal Challengers Bangalore 2011
Daniel Sams (Mumbai Indians) 35 Kolkata Knight Riders 2022
Parwinder Awana (Kings XI Punjab) 33 Chennai Super Kings 2014
Ravi Bopara (Punjab Kings XI Punjab) 33 Kolkata Knight Riders 2010
Yash Dayal (Gujarat Titans) 31 Kolkata Knight Riders 2023
Arjun Tendulkar (Mumbai Indians) 31 Punjab Kings 2023
Rahul Sharma (Pune Warriors India) 31 Royal Challengers Bangalore 2012
Dwayne Bravo (Gujarat Lions) 30 Royal Challengers Bangalore 2016
Sam Curran (Chennai Super Kings) 30 Kolkata Knight Riders 2021
Sheldon Cottrell (Kings XI Punjab) 30 Rajasthan Royals 2020
Shivil Kaushik (Gujarat Lions) 30 Royal Challengers Banglore 2016
Andrew Symonds (Deccan Chargers) 30 Delhi Daredevils 2008
Johan van der Wath (Royal Challengers Bangalore) 30 Kings XI Punjab 2011
Chris Jordan (Kings XI Punjab) 30 Delhi Capitals 2020
Lungi Ngidi (Chennai Super Kings) 30 Rajasthan Royals 2020

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *