IPL 2023: Harry Brook Of Sunrisers Hyderabad Slams First Century Of IPL Season 16

Batting at packed Eden Gardens in Kolkata, Brook finally managed to crack the IPL code and converted his first fifty of the premier competition into the sublime ton. Brook’s knock helped Sunrisers post a mammoth 228 for 4 in the first innings.

Brook, who was roped in after his exploits in Pakistan, finally announced his arrival in the tournament in style when he smashed four fours and two sixes inside the first three overs to give SRH the best start of the season.

Bought by SRH for a whopping Rs 13.25 crore, Brook had managed only 29 in the first three games but found his rhythm with a 55-ball-100 as he smashed 12 fours and three sixes.

Having got a reprieve on 45, when he was dropped by rookie leg-spinner Suyash Sharma an easy chance off his own bowling, Englishman got to his 50 off 32 balls.

Brook also overturned a caught-behind decision off Lockie Ferguson when on 61, as he hammered the Kiwi fiery pacer in the same over five fours, en route to the first century of the season, which came off a single off Umesh Yadav in the final over.

The day fully belonged to the English batter, who carried his bat replicating his success in the Pakistan Super League (PSL), where he had scored 264 runs for Lahore Qalandars in eight innings, which included a century, at a strike rate of 171.4 in 2022 edition.

Brook – who has also taken Test Cricket by storm – became the first centurion of the IPL 16 season and entered an elite club. He’s only the second KKR batter after Brendon McCullum (IPL 2008) to slam the first century of an IPL edition.

First hundred in IPL in Every Season

2008: Brendon McCullum – Kolkata Knight Riders

2009: AB de Villiers – Delhi Daredevils

2010: Yusuf Pathan – Rajasthan Royals

2011: Paul Valthaty – Kings XI Punjab

2012: Ajinkya Rahane – Rajasthan Royals

2013: Shane Watson – Rajasthan Royals

2014: Lenld Simmons – Mumbai Indians

2015: Brendon McCullum – Chennai Super Kings

2016: Quinton De Kock – Royal Challengers Bangalore

2017: Sanju Samson – Delhi Daredevils

2018: Chris Gayle – Punjab Kings

2019: Jonny Bairstow – Sunrisers Hyderabad

2020: KL Rahul – Punjab Kings

2021: Sanju Samson – Rajasthan Royals

2022: Jost Buttler – Rajasthan Royals

2023: Harry Brook – Sunrisers Hyderabad

(With PTI Inputs)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *