IPL 2023: Ayush Badoni Becomes First Hit-Wicket Victim Of IPL Season 16; Full List of Hit-Wickets In IPL

In an edge-of-the-seat thriller game, which saw 425 runs being scored in 40 overs, LSG reached home on the final ball of the match in the run chase of 213. It was LSG’s lower-order batting that kept its cool under pressure situations and had a last laugh.

Image: BCCI

LSG won the game in a thrilling fashion but this match will be embedded in the memories of cricket fans for several moments which transpired on the pitch as both teams went all-in to cross the winning line.

Ayush Badoni Hit Wicket In IPL

Ayush Badoni – the LSG batter – will remember and will be remembered, for his batting and the way he was dismissed in the dying moments of the nail-biting encounter.

Badoni – who is playing only his second IPL season – has impressed all with his ability to stay calm under pressure situations for LSG. The youngster was doing the same for his team against RCB and almost took his team home in the run chase in a stylish fashion.

On the fourth delivery of the 19th over, LSG needed just 6 runs to win with four wickets in hand. Badoni – who was on strike unbeaten on 30 – played a superb lap shot off England Mark Wood and the ball sailed over third man for a maximum.

However, the batter in his follow-through hit the stumps with his bat and the bails were dislodged. A flabbergasted Badoni hid his face under his arms at the unfortunate dismissal for he did everything right to finish the game for his team but a blunder changed the course of the match once again.

A dejected Badoni dragged himself out of the pitch towards the dugout and with his dismissal, he added his name to an unwanted list of batters who got dismissed hit-wicket in the tournament. Badoni became the 14th cricketer to get a hit-wicket in IPL.

However, the next over – which was the final over of the game – also was full of twists and turns just like a climax of a Hollywood thriller, and the winner could only be decided on the final ball of the match.

Last year, Gujarat Titans’ Sai Sudharsan also entered this unwanted club. Let us take a look at the full list of players who have been dismissed hit-wicket in the IPL since its inception in 2008.

S.No Player Team Against Year
1. Musavir Khote Mumbai Indians Kings XI Punjab 2008
2. Misbah-ul-Haq Royal Challengers Bangalore Kings XI Punjab 2008
3. Swapnil Asnodkar Rajasthan Royals Chennai Super Kings 2009
4. Ravindra Jadeja Chennai Super Kings Deccan Chargers 2012
5. Saurabh Tiwary RCB MI 2012
6. Yuvraj Singh Sunrisers Hyderabad MI 2016
7. Deepak Hooda SRH Delhi Daredevils 2016
8. David Warner SRH KXIP 2016
9. Sheldon Jackson KKR Rising Pune Supergiants 2017
10. Riyan Parag RR KKR 2019
11. Hardik Pandya MI KKR 2020
12. Jonny Bairstow SRH MI 2021
13. Sai Sudharshan Gujarat Titans MI 2022
14. Ayush Badoni Lucknow Super Giants RCB 2023

What Do Laws for Hit-Wicket Say?

As per the MCC’s law 35.1.1, the striker is out Hit wicket if, after the bowler has entered the delivery stride and while the ball is in play, his/her wicket is put down by either the striker’s bat or person as described in Laws to (Wicket put down) in any of the following circumstances: in the course of any action taken by him/her in preparing to receive or in receiving a delivery, in setting off for the first run immediately after playing or playing at the ball, if no attempt is made to play the ball, in setting off for the first run, providing that in the opinion of the umpire this is immediately after the striker has had the opportunity of playing the ball, in lawfully making a second or further stroke for the purpose of guarding his/her wicket within the provisions of Law 34.3 (Ball lawfully struck more than once).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *