Highest Strike Rate In IPL 2023: Ajinkya Rahane Leads The List Following Another Quickfire Fifty For CSK

Strike Rate plays a massive role in the limited overs formats and more so in the T20 format, where you get only a total of 120 balls in an innings to face as a batting side. This year, the IPL has seen some incredible striking as teams and players look to deliver statement.

Ajinkya Rahane, Glenn Maxwell and Nicholas Pooran dominate IPL 2023 highest strike rate list

Rahane, who hardly played games in the past two seasons of IPL, has so far scored 209 runs, including 2 fifties, in 5 innings at an average of 52.25 and an incredible strike rate of 199.04.

The 34-year-old has struck 11 sixes and 18 fours so far and also holds the record for the second fastest fifty this season. While one of his recent fifty came in 24 balls, his first fifty on his CSK debut came in just 19 balls.

Lucknow Super Giants wicketkeeper-batter Nicholas Pooran, who smashed a 15-ball fifty earlier in the season, also appears in the list thanks to his joint second fastest fifty in IPL history.

With the latest knock, Rahane tops the list for the highest strike rate for batters with more than 100 runs in the ongoing 16th season of Indian Premier League. Royal Challengers Bangalore batters Glenn Maxwell and Faf Du Plessis follow Rahane in the list.

Highest Strike Rate in IPL 2023 (Minimum 100 runs)

Player (Team) Innings Runs Strike Rate
Ajinkya Rahane (CSK) 5 209 199.04
Glenn Maxwell (RCB) 7 253 188.80
Nicholas Pooran (LSG) 7 171 185.86
Suryakumar Yadav (MI) 6 123 168.49
Shimron Hetmyer (RR) 7 189 167.25
Faf Du Plessis (RCB) 7 405 165.30
Vijay Shankar (GT) 4 129 161.25
Jason Roy (KKR) 2 104 160.00
Venkatesh Iyer (KKR) 7 254 159.74
Prabhsimran Singh (PBKS) 7 159 159.00

While Rahane tops the list for this season, the overall record for highest strike rate belongs to Kolkata Knight Riders all-rounder Andre Russell, who has a strike rate of 175.57 for player that has played over 100 matches and scored over 1000 runs.

Russell’s compatriot and KKR teammate Sunil Narine ranks second for the best strike rate in IPL history followed by Maxwell, Virender Sehwag, AB de Villiers, Chris Gayle and Kieron Pollard among others.

Highest Strike Rate in IPL history (Minimum 1000 runs)

Player Innings Runs Strike Rate
Andre Russell 89 2142 175.57
Sunil Narine 93 1038 160.68
Glenn Maxwell 113 2572 156.73
Nicholas Pooran 51 1083 155.82
Virender Sehwag 104 2728 155.44
Shimron Hetmyer 51 1023 154.62
AB de Villiers 170 5162 151.68
Jos Buttler 88 3075 149.34
Chris Gayle 141 4965 148.96
Rishabh Pant 97 2838 147.96
Kieron Pollard 171 3412 147.32
Prithvi Shaw 69 1635 146.37
Hardik Pandya 105 2078 145.82
Yusuf Pathan 154 3204 142.97
Jonny Bairstow 39 1291 142.65

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *