DC vs MI IPL 2023: Full List of Award Winners, Man of The Match, Post Match Presentation and Records

MI’s captain Rohit Sharma top-scored for the side with a knock off 65 runs from 45 balls. Tilak Varma and Ishan Kishan also made crucial contributions as they scored 41 and 31 runs respectively.

Earlier, Axar Patel struck 54 off just 25 balls to help DC post 172 all out after being invited to bat. Patel’s knock was studded with four boundaries and five sixes. Captain David Warner chipped in with 51. Piyush Chawla was the most successful bowler for MI with figures of 3/22 while Jason Behrendorff took wickets.

Rohit Sharma

Brief Scores: Delhi Capitals: 172 all out in 19.4 overs (David Warner 51, Axar Patel 54; Piyush Chawla 3/22, Jason Behrendorff 3/23). Mumbai Indians: 173 for 4 in 20 overs (Rohit Sharma 65, Tilak Varma 41; Mukesh Kumar 2/30).

DC vs MI IPL 2023 Match 16 Award Winners

Player Of The Match: Rohit Sharma (MI), 65 (45)

TIAGO.ev Electric Striker Of The Match: Axar Patel (DC) Strike rater: 216

Herbalife Active Catch Of The Match: Abhishek Porel (DC)

Visit Saudi Beyond The Boundaries Longest 6: Rohit Sharma, 95 metres

RuPay On-The-Go 4s: Rohit Sharma, 6 fours

UPSTOX Most Valuable Asset Of The Match: Axar Patel, 37.5 MVA points

Dream11 Gamechanger Of The Match: Piyush Chawla (MI), 103 fantasy points

Note: All the prizes carried a cash reward of Rs 1 lakh

DC vs MI IPL 2023 Match 1: Who Said What

Rohit Sharma, Player of the Match: “Winning the game is the most important. We have been working hard from the first game. We had a camp in Mumbai, getting the result (in our favour) feels good. First win is always special.

“We played a Test match here recently, the pitch looked different. Getting a slow bowler was important on this pitch. The spinners kept us in the game. We needed to bat well to chase the total. I thought everyone put their hand up.

“We had to make it count for the team. I needed to make use of the powerplay, I knew we had to keep attacking and take our chances. I tried to create a partnership, had a good communication with Tilak. It was important for us to have a good partnership.

“We have young guys who haven’t played IPL before, so it’s important to have faith in them. Give them that confidence, and we are trying to have a healthy atmopshere in the dressing room. Don’t need to make drastic changes, that’s really important for us.”

Cameron Green: “Probably expected it (the game) to finish a lot earlier, but happy we ended up on the right side. I didn’t wanna cramp (last ball), took the helmet off and I knew there was two there and thankfully it came off.

“The conversation (when I went to bat) was to hit 2-3 boundaries and thankfully it came off. There was definitely pressure there, but it was so much fun, to get ten an over, I mean it’s moments like these are what you wait for, hopefully this (win) will kickstart our campaign.

“I knew I was gonna make it and the throw was high and I knew when the ball went to Tim’s end he (Tim David) was gonna make it with his dive.”

David Warner: “You look at the last three IPL games we have witnessed, they have been amazing. Wrong end of it today, but the guys were fantastic. Rohit played a fantastic knock at the top of the order.

“Nortje is world-class and that’s what we expect from him, Mustafiz too. Timmy David was on the wrong side of it, so I tried to keep it at stump-height. I think from the last three games, we’ve some positives but we shouldn’t lost wickets in clumps. Axar should bat in the top four the way he is striking the ball. From the last three games we have played, there are a lot of positives.”

DC vs MI IPL 2023 Stats

Suryakumar Yadav last six innings in white ball cricket

Longest sequences without a 50+ score for an opener (IPL)
24 innings Rohit Sharma (2021-23) – streak ended today
21 innings Mayank Agarwal (2011-15)
20 innings Murali Vijay (2014-16)

Rohit Sharma is now involved in 37 runouts in IPL – joint most with Dinesh Karthik. It was also the 26th time his partner has been dismissed – joint most with MS Dhoni.

All stats sources: Cricbuzz

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *